This website uses cookies.  By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more here.


Lead Guitar, Rhythm Guitar.


NME scribe Mark Beaumont is gearing up to the release of the new single by the hotly-tipped Prego through his Year Zero Recordings label. ‘The Longest Calm’ is released on 13th April 2009.

Says Mark of the venture: “After thirteen years of watching new bands, eventually one forces you to put your money where your mouth is. Prego were the loudest, most brilliantly concocted cross between My Bloody Valentine's cosmic scree, Elbow's elegant drone and Coldplay's Big Music chart-friendliness I could have ever imagined, and the first band I've ever seen knowing that I'd be a fool not to help put out records. I have no major label backing, no money for a full album campaign and not much interest in running a record label at all to be honest, so Year Zero Recordings - named after the club night I saw them play at - has been founded and is planned to exist solely for this one single release, and then be retired. Because sometimes, well, you've just got to, haven't you?“

The release of Prego’s ‘Cause & Resolve’ single last summer saw the band become widely tipped, rocketing to the attention of Steve Lamacq, and NME’s Radar Buzz pages. One of the most talked about new bands of last summer’s O2 Wireless Festival, Prego also featured in Rocksound magazine's Hot 100 and in their Top5 unsigned bands - as polled by the readers. Prego are in the studio with producer Guy Massey (Manics, Spirtualized, Idlewild) working on their debut album.

Screen name:
Member since:
Jul 03 2006
Active over 1 month ago
Level of commitment:
Very Committed
Years together:
Gigs played:
Over 100
50 years


Explosions in the Sky, Mogwai, Death Cab for Cutie, Sparklehorse, Grandaddy, Sigur Ros, Aereogramme, Interpol, Afghan Whigs, Sebadoh, Guided By Voices MBV, Built To Spill, ATDI, The Smashing Pumpkins, Wheat, Pavement, Far, Rival Schools, Quicksand, Girls Against Boys, Pixies, Nada Surf, Will Oldham, Nick Drake, Royal Trux, Radiohead, Bright Eyes, Yo La Tengo, Silkworm, Dinosaur Jr, Sonic Youth, Nirvana, Pinback, Mercury Rev, The Flaming Lips, Do Make Say Think, Augie March, Art of Fighting, Elliott Smith, The Shins, The Album Leaf, Jeff Buckley, Neil Young, Hayden, Sun Kil Moon, Modest Mouse, The Wrens, American Analogue Set, Low, Looper, Sleater Kinney, Nicolai Dunger, Deus, Stony Sleep, Snow Patrol, The Reindeer Section, Iain Archer, The Notwist, Slint, Mono, Little Wings.

Members Of Band

Edd Simpson, Caspar Williamson, Will Leslie, Paul Jennings, Simon Britcliffe